Nevada is a dog-friendly state, but dog bites or attacks are a prevalent issue. Often, when a personal injury case involves a dog bite, there are several questions about liability. When determining which parties are liable in a dog bite case, the particulars of each individual case must be considered as well as the leash laws in their area. Las Vegas leash laws are essential to know—for your protection and the city’s overall safety.
There is no state-wide leash law in Nevada, but dogs are required to be under control at all times. The state gives local governments the authority to make leash laws for individual municipalities. Las Vegas’s dog leash laws require owners to keep dogs on a leash when out in public unless they are at a dog park.
Under Las Vegas Municipal Code 7.36.030, it is a misdemeanor to allow a dog out in public without a leash. However, the city of Las Vegas may elect to impose a civil penalty that carries a small fine rather than a criminal charge.
In North Las Vegas (incorporated area), it is a misdemeanor to take an unleashed dog in public (North Las Vegas Municipal Code 6.08.060). North Las Vegas also specifically outlaws an unleashed dog in a mobile home park or recreational vehicle park. If a dog has been declared “dangerous,” the owner must keep the dog leashed, muzzled, and under their control when out in public.
Clark County, where Las Vegas is located, also makes it a misdemeanor to take an unleashed dog in public (Clark County Code 10.36.040). There are also special rules that only apply to the Strip between Sahara Avenue and Sunset Road that prohibit dogs, even if they are leashed, between 12 noon and 5 a.m unless it is a service animal.
If a Las Vegas pet owner willfully takes their dog out in public without a leash, they may be charged with a misdemeanor. A first offense can carry the following penalties if convicted:
A second offense within seven years of the first carries the following penalties:
A misdemeanor offense can carry the following penalties:
North Las Vegas can also have an “at large” dog impounded for 72 hours. To reclaim the pet, the owner must pay $25 plus boarding costs and show proof of ownership.
The idea behind leash laws is to reduce the possibility of dog bite injuries. When a dog is on a leash and under the owner’s control, the chances of it breaking free and attacking someone is much less likely. However, a dog’s owner can still be liable for any injuries or property damage their pet causes, whether they are leashed or not.
If a dog in Nevada has injured you or a loved one, contact Harris & Harris Injury Lawyers. Our personal injury attorneys in Las Vegas will evaluate your case and discuss your legal options in a free consultation. Contact us online today.