Nevada has a set of laws that apply to car accidents, which are designed to ensure that victims are adequately compensated for their injuries and damages. Here are some important Nevada car accident laws.
Nevada law requires several obligations for you to fulfill after a car accident:
Drivers are required to carry liability insurance that covers at least:
This mandatory auto insurance is designed to provide financial protection to drivers who are involved in car accidents. Suppose another driver is found to be at fault for your accident. In that case, their liability insurance will cover your medical bills, property damage, and other losses up to the limits of their policy.
When a driver is involved in a car accident in Nevada without auto insurance, they may face severe penalties—for example, a fine, license suspension, or even criminal charges. Additionally, drivers without insurance who are found to be at fault for an accident can be held personally responsible for any resulting damages or injuries. If you have questions about your ability to recover compensation after a crash, consider speaking with an experienced Las Vegas auto accident lawyer to explore your legal options.
In Nevada, the statute of limitations for car accident claims is two years from the date of the collision. Therefore, if you fail to file a lawsuit before the two-year deadline, your case will likely be dismissed, and you may lose your right to seek compensation. However, there are some exceptions. For example, if a car accident involves a government entity, you must first file a written claim with the Nevada State Board of Examiners within six months of the date of the incident. After which, you can file suit if the government agency denies your claim or does not respond to it within six months, but then you will only have one year left to file suit.
Nevada is a comparative negligence state, which means that fault for an accident can be shared among multiple parties. Therefore, if you are found to be partially at fault for the accident, your compensation may be reduced proportionately. For example, suppose you are awarded $100,000 and found 30% at fault for the accident. In that case, your compensation will be reduced by 30%, so you will receive $70,000. However, Nevada law also stipulates that if you are found to be more than 50% at fault for the accident, you cannot recover any compensation.
Although vehicle occupants are required to wear seat belts, Nevada is one of several states with a “seat belt defense” law. Under this law, seat belt use cannot be used as evidence of negligence. In other words, if you were involved in a car accident and were not wearing a seat belt, that fact cannot be used against you to establish that you were at fault for the accident or that your injuries were caused by your failure to wear a seat belt.