Required motor vehicle inspections and emissions testing are an integral part of maintaining the safety and longevity of a vehicle. Car owners in Nevada must meet the following state inspection laws in order to apply for registration and legally drive their vehicle.
It is illegal to drive a vehicle in Nevada that is not registered. However, before heading to the DMV, there are inspections that must take place to be in compliance with the law.
Drivers have around 30 days to have their car registered once they move to Nevada, and must possess:
Drivers who purchase a new car in Nevada will need:
Nevada residents who purchase a vehicle from an out-of-state dealer, will need the following to get it registered:
Vehicle emissions testing is required for most vehicles, as lawmakers are serious about protecting the public and the environment from vehicle-related air pollution. First off, determine if your vehicle must pass the test or is exempt. New cars or trucks are exempt until after their first and second registration cycles. Additional vehicles that do not have to meet this requirement, include:
Registered owners of vehicles that must have an emission inspection will likely be required to have one conducted at each annual renewal. The mailed renewal notice will indicate if a test is necessary. After an emissions test, the results are valid for 90 days from the date of its completion. Emission tests for vehicles purchased by a Nevada dealer are valid for 180 days.
An emissions inspection is designed to flag vehicles that are emitting an unreasonable amount of smog. If a vehicle fails the initial test, owners are responsible for having the necessary repairs done at a licensed facility. The inspector will provide a full report, explaining what needs to be done. If owners cannot afford to fix their vehicle, it must be kept off the road. Once repairs are finished, the vehicle can be tested again. If the vehicle fails the second test, a waiver may be issued. A waiver allows the owner until next the registration renewal to resubmit an emissions test. Waivers cannot be issued to vehicles with warranty coverage, smoking vehicles, or emission device tampering. Refusing to comply with Nevada’s car inspection laws can result in traffic tickets and fines.
If you or someone you love has been injured in a car accident caused by another’s negligence, contact our office today. Our car accident attorneys in Las Vegas will discuss your legal options during a free consultation.
COVID 19 News: We are open for business and continue to be available to existing and new clients through virtual meetings and teleconferences. Stay safe. We can handle all of your legal needs without you leaving your house. Please call (702) 384-1414 or click here to be connected to our attorneys who can get to work on your case today.