Selecting the right car seat and securing it properly are critical to keeping a child safe while traveling in a vehicle. Car seats are not only incredibly important in the event of an accident, but are also mandated by law in many cases. Nevada has enacted car seat laws in an effort to bolster child passenger safety.
Nevada law requires that any child must sit in an approved child-restraint system when under the age of six and weighing less than 60 pounds (NRS 484B.157). An approved child-restraint system is one that is in accordance with the Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standards, and is:
The Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) specifies the following seat recommendations by age, in order to keep children safe in vehicles:
Seat Belt Tips: Children sitting in booster seats designed for shoulder belts should not use only a lap belt. At no time, should items such as books, towels, or pillows be used to boost a child. Shoulder belts should always lie across the chest, and never behind a person’s arm or back, since it will eliminate any protection for the upper body in a crash.
The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration maintains a directory of many inspection stations, which can connect you to a certified technician in your area. The certified technician will perform a car seat inspection for free, and will likely demonstrate how to correctly install and use it.
The fines and amount of community service for violating the child restraint law will typically depend on the driver’s history of violations:
|First Offense||$100 – $500||10 – 50 Hours|
|Second Offense||$500 – $1,000||50 – 100 Hours|
First-time offenders may avoid penalties by taking a class that teaches about child restraint safety within 60 days of sentencing. If it’s the driver’s second offense, the judge may reduce the fine or community service by half. A third or subsequent violation will result in a suspension of the driver’s license for a period of 30 to 180 days.
Since car seat violations are not considered moving violations, points will not be added to the driver’s record by the DMV.
If you have been involved in an accident that was not your fault while your child was in a car seat, please do not hesitate to contact our office. A consultation with a Las Vegas car accident lawyer is free.
COVID 19 News: We are open for business and continue to be available to existing and new clients through virtual meetings and teleconferences. Stay safe. We can handle all of your legal needs without you leaving your house. Please call (702) 384-1414 or click here to be connected to our attorneys who can get to work on your case today.