Auto Insurance FAQs

No one leaves their home in the morning suspecting they will be involved in an automobile collision. Unfortunately, hundreds of drivers and their passengers are involved in fatal car accidents every year. This article aims to answer some common questions regarding Nevada automobile accidents. The best thing you can do to protect yourself is consult with a car accident lawyer in Las Vegas, Nevada.

What kind of automobile insurance is required in Nevada?

All Nevada drivers are required to have liability insurance with the following minimums:

  • $15,000 of bodily injury coverage per person
  • $30,000 of bodily injury coverage per accident
  • $10,000 of property damage coverage

Most insurance companies offer plans with higher coverage. Discuss what you may need with your insurance representative.

If a driver is caught without the minimum required insurance, their license or registration may be suspended and a $250 fine will be collected before the suspension can be lifted. Nevada law requires all drivers to carry proof of insurance in their cars.

What optional insurance is offered in Nevada?

There are several types of optional insurance, depending on the driver’s habits and needs. This includes:

  • Collision coverage – This pays for damage to the policy holder’s vehicle in the case of an accident
  • Comprehensive coverage – This covers damages due to external factors, such as weather or break-ins
  • Uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage – When a driver is involved with an individual without sufficient (or any) insurance, this pays the policyholder for damages and injuries.
  • Medical payments coverage – Covers medical expenses for the driver and passengers
  • Rental reimbursement coverage – Covers the cost of a car rental while a car is being repaired after a collision
  • Towing and labor coverage – Covers towing and roadside assistance
  • Guaranteed asset protection coverage – Covers the remaining loan amount if a car is totaled and you owe more than it is worth

How to file an insurance claim

When a car collision does occur, it’s important to report the incident to your insurance company and contact a personal injury lawyer in Las Vegas, Nevada.

When to file?

Whenever there has been significant physical damage to your car or any other car involved in the collision, you must report the incident. If you are involved in a minor accident with little to no damage that doesn’t require repairs or can be paid for out-of-pocket, it is not necessary to inform your insurance company.

Contacting the insurance company

Contact your insurance representative as soon as is feasible, while the memory of the incident is fresh in your mind. Before placing the call, be sure to gather all relevant information regarding your policy as well as the incident in question and speak to a lawyer in Las Vegas, Nevada.

Nevada is a “fault” state, meaning the driver who caused the incident is responsible for all costs regarding property damage and injuries. The driver does not share fault with anyone else. This can become complicated, especially when there are multiple vehicles involved. Each driver’s insurance company will conduct an investigation to determine who was at fault.

When talking to your insurance representative, be sure to ask as many questions as you need to in order to understand the specific circumstances. Find out:

  • Who is paying for the damages?
  • What is the insurance company’s claims processing procedure?
  • What forms need to be filed and by what deadline?

Seeking compensation

Compensation for property or medical costs due to a car collision may be sought in one of three ways:

  • Filing a claim with your own insurance company
  • Filing a third party claim with another driver’s insurance
  • Filing a personal injury lawsuit

What happens with a property damage claim?

It can be difficult to get a clear picture of what is going to happen to your car after it is damaged in a collision.

Who will do the repairs?

The at-fault driver’s insurance company if the insurance company denies their policyholder was at fault, even when that driver is cited, you have the option of filing a claim through your own insurance company or filing a lawsuit against the at-fault driver. When the insurance information is not included in the police report, it can take up to 30 days to establish contact. During this period it is extremely important that you do not try to fix the car yourself or trade or sell the car. This can compromise your claim. It is likely the at-fault driver’s insurance company will require their own examination of the vehicle.

Your insurance company if you have comprehensive or collision coverage, you can process your property damage claim through your own insurance company. This usually requires you to pay a deductible, and thus may not be the best method. In some cases, you can be repaid for the deductible.

What happens when my car is totaled?

When the repairs exceed the market value of a car, it is considered a “total loss.” It is at the discretion of your insurance company to determine if the car is totalled. In that case, the insurance company will mail you a check for the market value of your car. The market value may be less than the loan amount for a new car, meaning you will have to pay the difference.

What if my insurance company offers me a settlement?

It is important to remember that first and foremost, insurance companies are out to make a profit. Some companies use computers to generate reduced claims payments. Others pressure their policyholders to accept quick settlements that are insufficient to pay for all damages or injuries. Typically it is wise to take time to consider the first offer an insurance company provides, especially when it is done quickly. The best way to protect yourself is to seek legal advice from an experienced accident attorney in Las Vegas Nevada who understands how insurance companies operate.

Contact a Lawyer in Las Vegas, Nevada

Harris & Harris Injury Lawyers have been helping victims of accidents in Las Vegas for over 15 years. We have the skills, expertise and dedication to ensure you receive the maximum compensation during what is usually a stressful time.

Call Harris & Harris Injury Lawyers today on (702) 384-1414. You can also submit our online contact form and we will get back to you promptly.

We are open for business and continue to be available to existing and new clients through virtual meetings and teleconferences. We can handle all of your legal needs without you leaving your house. Please call (702) 384-1414 or click here to be connected to our attorneys